Livestock Board

General Agency, Board or Commission Rules

Chapter 15: Trichomoniasis Rules

Effective Date: 11/08/2024 to Current

Rule Type: Current Rules & Regulations

Reference Number: 051.0001.15.11082024

CHAPTER 15 TRICHOMONIASIS RULES

Section 1. Authority to Create Rules. Pursuant to Wyoming Statute § 11-18-103(a)(v), the Wyoming Livestock Board promulgates the following rules.

Section 2. Definitions. The following definitions apply to these rules:

(a) "Approved Livestock Market" means a livestock market that is licensed by the Board.

(b) "Board" means the Wyoming Livestock Board.

(c) "Bovine" means sexually intact male and female Bovine of the genus *Bos* of any breed.

(d) "Brand Inspection Certificate" means an official form issued by the Board and used to transfer title or regulate movement of Bovine, or an official form issued by a governmental agency in the state of origin that is responsible for animal identification listing all of the identification marks of a specific animal.

(e) "Certified Trichomoniasis Negative" means any male Bovine that has tested negative to two Official Trichomoniasis Tests conducted within 7 to 21 days of each other with no reproductive exposure for at least 30 days prior to the first test or during the interval between the two tests.

(f) "Common Grazing" means any common pasturing arrangement on all private, state, tribal, or federal lands or any combination thereof in which Bovine from two or more Herd Units not under common ownership can commingle.

(g) "Designated Feedlot" means any feedlot that is designated by the Board to feed livestock–with no provision for grazing—and that properly identifies and manages Restricted Livestock in a designated portion of the feedlot so as to prevent direct contact between Restricted and non-Restricted Livestock.

(h) "Direct Movement" means movement in which the Bovine are not unloaded en route to their destination.

(i) "Herd Unit" means a group of one or more Bovine with one or multiple owners that is managed as one herd.

(j) "Infected Herd Unit" means a Herd Unit in which one or more Bovine have been diagnosed as a Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine.

(k) "Official Trichomoniasis Test" means a PCR test or another test approved by the

State Veterinarian:

(i) Conducted on a properly collected and cultivated or processed sample to detect the presence of the organism *Tritrichomonas foetus*;

(ii) Properly recorded on an official Trichomoniasis test record provided by the Board; and

(iii) Performed by authorized personnel at an approved veterinary laboratory.

(l) "Official Trichomoniasis Test Identification Tag" means an ear tag that is authorized by the Board and placed in either ear of a Test Eligible Male Bovine.

(m) "PCR test" means the Polymerase Chain Reaction test that detects genetic material of *Tritrichomonas foetus*.

(n) "Pooled Samples" means samples combined at the veterinary laboratory from two to five male Bovine belonging to one owner.

(o) "Recognized Slaughter Establishment" means any slaughter establishment operating under the provisions of the Federal Meat Inspection Act (21 U.S.C. §§ 601-695) or state law.

(p) "Restricted Livestock" means an untested Test Eligible Male Bovine sent to a Designated Feedlot for terminal feeding, a Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine, a Trichomoniasis Exposed Bovine, and other livestock with restrictions set by the State Veterinarian.

(q) "State Veterinarian" means the Wyoming State Veterinarian or a designee.

(r) "Test Eligible Male Bovine" means:

- (i) Any non-virgin, male Bovine;
- (ii) Any male Bovine over 24 months of age; or
- (iii) Any weaned male Bovine from an Infected Herd Unit.

(s) "Trichomoniasis" means a contagious venereal disease of Bovine caused by the protozoan *Tritrichomonas foetus*, and characterized by infertility, pyometra, abortion, and reproductive inefficiency.

(t) "Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian" means a Wyoming licensed veterinarian who has successfully completed a Board approved Trichomoniasis certification training, passed the test, and been issued a certificate.

(u) "Trichomoniasis Exposed" means a Bovine that has commingled or had fence

line contact with a Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine or an Infected Herd Unit.

(v) "Trichomoniasis Infected" means a Bovine that has tested positive on an Official Trichomoniasis Test.

(w) "Quarantine" means a document issued by the State Veterinarian that restricts the movement of specific Bovine.

(x) "Quarantine Release Plan" means a written document outlining the requirements a herd owner or manager must satisfy before the State Veterinarian will release a Quarantine of an Infected Herd Unit.

(y) "V Brand" means a 2" X 3" hot iron single V character brand applied to the left tail-head of a Bovine signifying that the Bovine is Trichomoniasis Infected or a Trichomoniasis Exposed male Bovine that has not been tested and Certified Trichomoniasis Negative.

(z) "VS Form 1-27" means the Permit for Movement of Restricted Animals form created and supplied by USDA APHIS VS and issued by a state or federal animal health official or designee or by an Accredited Veterinarian.

Section 3. Veterinarians to be Certified in the Collection Techniques and Handling of Trichomoniasis Samples.

(a) Only a Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian can collect an Official Trichomoniasis Test sample. The collection and submission protocol shall be consistent with the recommendations and requirements of the testing laboratory. A copy of the protocols may be obtained from the State Veterinarian.

(b) Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarians shall recertify at least once every five years.

(c) The Board will provide certification programs as needed.

Section 4. Duty to Report Trichomoniasis to State Veterinarian.

(a) Any person who knows or suspects that a Bovine that the person owns or manages has Trichomoniasis shall immediately report the same to the State Veterinarian.

(b) Any veterinarian who suspects or knows that a Bovine has Trichomoniasis shall immediately report the same to the State Veterinarian.

(c) A Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian who has collected the specimen from a Bovine shall notify the owner and the State Veterinarian within 24 hours of receiving a positive result.

(d) Any testing laboratory that confirms a diagnosis of a Trichomoniasis positive Bovine shall notify the State Veterinarian within 24 hours of confirming a positive diagnosis. (e) Upon the State Veterinarian's request, the Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian shall submit all Official Trichomoniasis Test records to the State Veterinarian within 30 days of testing.

Section 5. Trichomoniasis Testing Requirements.

(a) The owner or manager of a Test Eligible Male Bovine to be sold or leased for reproductive purposes in Wyoming shall have the Test Eligible Male Bovine tested with an Official Trichomoniasis Test prior to the sale or lease. Upon written request from both of the parties, the State Veterinarian may grant an exemption to this testing requirement if one of the following situations apply:

(i) A Test Eligible Male Bovine from a herd that is changing ownership as a whole and will continue to reside on the same ranch property; or

(ii) A virgin male Bovine more than 24 months of age if the owner and herd veterinarian supply any information requested by the State Veterinarian necessary to make a waiver determination and the State Veterinarian grants a waiver.

(b) A male Bovine tested for Trichomoniasis shall be identified with an Official Trichomoniasis Test Identification Tag, which the Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian shall record on the test record along with any other identification present.

(c) A male Bovine being tested solely to meet another state's importation requirements must be identified with an official USDA-approved identification tag, but does not need to have the Wyoming Trichomoniasis tag.

(d) If a Test Eligible Male Bovine is to be sold in Wyoming through an Approved Livestock Market, the owner or manager must:

(i) Have a negative Official Trichomoniasis Test for each Test Eligible Male Bovine within two weeks prior to sale if sold for reproductive purposes, or

(ii) Sell the Test Eligible Male Bovine for slaughter at a Recognized Slaughter Establishment or to a Designated Feedlot for terminal feeding.

(e) The buyer must ensure that the test requirements are met prior to a change of ownership.

Section 6. Common Grazing Trichomoniasis Test Requirements.

(a) A Test Eligible Male Bovine that will graze in Common Grazing or be used by Common Grazing participants for breeding purposes prior to the Common Grazing shall test negative to one Official Trichomoniasis Test prior to turn out. This test may be either an individual sample test or a Pooled Sample test. The following are exemptions to this requirement:

(i) Virgin male Bovine less than 24 months of age;

(ii) Test Eligible Male Bovine having tested negative on an Official Trichomoniasis Test after the previous breeding season and which have had no subsequent reproductive exposure; or

(iii) Test Eligible Male Bovine used in Common Grazing arrangements if all owners or managers of herds participating in the Common Grazing arrangement submit a single group testing waiver request in writing and the State Veterinarian approves the request.

(b) A herd owner or manager who participates in a Common Grazing arrangement may request the State Veterinarian to investigate compliance with these rules by participants of the Common Grazing arrangement directly involving that producer's Bovine. The State Veterinarian shall investigate and take appropriate action in a timely manner.

Section 7. Test Requirement for Trichomoniasis Exposed Male Bovine.

(a) Trichomoniasis Exposed male Bovine shall be Quarantined until the test requirements outlined in this section are met and the results are reported to the State Veterinarian. Pooled Sample tests cannot be used for compliance with this section.

(b) One Official Trichomoniasis Test is required on all Test Eligible Male Bovine that have had fence line contact with a Trichomoniasis Infected Male Bovine or Herd Unit during the breeding season. The test must be completed within 60 days of notification by the State Veterinarian unless otherwise approved by the State Veterinarian.

(c) Two Official Trichomoniasis Tests are required on all Test Eligible Male Bovine that have commingled with a Trichomoniasis Infected Male Bovine or Herd Unit during the breeding season. The first test must be conducted on the Test Eligible Male Bovine after at least 21 days of sexual rest. The second test must be conducted within 7 to 21 days of the initial test.

(d) Following a risk evaluation of the Trichomoniasis Exposed herd, the State Veterinarian may approve an exemption from the testing requirements in this section for:

(i) A Test Eligible Male Bovine that is V-branded (unless the State Veterinarian approves an exemption) and Directly Moved to a Recognized Slaughter Establishment with a VS Form 1-27; or

(ii) A Test Eligible Male Bovine that is V-branded (unless the State Veterinarian approves an exemption) and Directly Moved to a Designated Feedlot for terminal feeding with a VS Form 1-27.

Section 8. Unauthorized Commingling.

(a) Male Bovine used for recreational or exhibition purposes shall remain under confinement at the recreational or exhibition premises and shall not be allowed to commingle with female Bovine.

(b) If a male Bovine escapes confinement or breaches a fence and commingles with another owner or manager's Bovine, the State Veterinarian may require the offending male Bovine to be tested once with an Official Trichomoniasis Test. The test, if required, shall not be on Pooled Samples. The owner or manager of the offending male Bovine shall bear all costs for a required Official Trichomoniasis Test.

(c) The owner or manager of the affected Bovine shall contact the owner or manager of the offending male Bovine and the State Veterinarian within 30 days of the breach to request that the offending male Bovine be tested.

(d) The owner or manager of the affected Bovine shall verify that the offending male Bovine commingled with his Bovine by providing a Brand Inspection Certificate, photos, or individual identification to the State Veterinarian. These documents shall be sent electronically unless the State Veterinarian approves another method.

(e) The State Veterinarian shall monitor the status of the situation and ensure that the owner of the offending animals complies with this rule.

Section 9. Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine and Infected Herd Units.

(a) Under W.S. § 11-19-110(a), the owner or manager shall immediately confine and isolate Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine and any Bovine suspected to have Trichomoniasis.

(b) The State Veterinarian shall Quarantine any Bovine testing positive to an Official Trichomoniasis Test and the Infected Herd Unit.

(c) The herd owner or manager shall inform the State Veterinarian of the total number of male Bovine and the total number of female Bovine in the Infected Herd Unit.

(d) Within seven days of being notified of a positive Official Trichomoniasis Test result, the owner or manager of a Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine shall provide the State Veterinarian with the names and addresses of all Bovine owners or managers that the Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine may have commingled or had fence line contact with and all other adjacent landowners that have Bovine on their land. The State Veterinarian will verify the information provided with the area brand inspector and notify all adjacent landowners in writing of the herd infection.

(e) The State Veterinarian shall develop a Quarantine Release Plan with the owner or manager of the Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine.

(i) Unless the State Veterinarian directs otherwise, the owner or manager of a Trichomoniasis Infected male Bovine shall apply a V Brand on the Trichomoniasis Infected

male Bovine within seven days of notification of positive test results and prior to moving the Trichomoniasis Infected male Bovine from the Quarantined premises. Before moving Trichomoniasis Exposed male Bovine from the Quarantined premises without testing, the owner or manager shall apply a V Brand to the Trichomoniasis Exposed male Bovine unless the State Veterinarian directs otherwise.

- (ii) Any Trichomoniasis Infected male Bovine must be either:
 - (A) Slaughtered on the premises for the owner or manager's use;
 - (B) Euthanized and disposed of with the State Veterinarian's written

approval;

(C) Directly Moved to a Recognized Slaughter Establishment;

(D) Directly Moved to a Designated Feedlot or Approved Livestock Market followed by Direct Movement to a Recognized Slaughter Establishment along with a VS Form 1-27;

(E) If none of these options are feasible, moved or disposed of as directed by the State Veterinarian.

(iii) Following removal of all Trichomoniasis Infected male Bovine, all other male Bovine in an Infected Herd Unit shall be held under Quarantine until Certified Trichomoniasis Negative. Pooled Samples shall not be used for testing an Infected Herd Unit. The State Veterinarian may approve an exemption to this requirement in the following situations:

(A) A male Bovine that is V-branded (unless the State Veterinarian approves an exemption) and Directly Moved to a Recognized Slaughter Establishment with a VS Form 1-27;

(B) A male Bovine that is V-branded (unless the State Veterinarian approves an exemption) and Directly Moved to a Designated Feedlot with a VS Form 1-27; or

(C) The male Bovine is an unweaned calf.

(f) If the owner or manager chooses to euthanize or slaughter on the premises a Trichomoniasis Infected Bovine, the owner or manager must submit proof of euthanasia or slaughter to the State Veterinarian.

Section 10. Female Bovine Subject to Quarantine.

(a) Any non-virgin female Bovine in an Infected Herd Unit shall be held under Quarantine unless exempted in a Quarantine Release Plan as follows:

(i) A virgin female Bovine less than 18 months of age with an affidavit by

the owner or manager attesting to its virginity;

(ii) A female Bovine not exposed to any male Bovine for at least 180 days prior to the diagnosis;

(iii) A female Bovine at least 120 days pregnant as determined by a Wyoming licensed veterinarian;

(iv) A female Bovine Directly Moved to a Recognized Slaughter Establishment with a VS Form 1-27;

(v) A female Bovine V-branded (unless exempted by the State Veterinarian) and Directly Moved to a Designated Feedlot for terminal feeding with a VS Form 1-27; or

(vi) A female Bovine sold for purposes of feeding under Quarantine for at least 180 days after which the female Bovine can be moved without restriction. The State Veterinarian has discretion to waive this requirement.

(b) The Infected Herd Unit owner or manager shall assist the State Veterinarian in determining the destination of all non-virgin female Bovine that the owner or manager sold during the 12 months prior to the diagnosis of Trichomoniasis. The State Veterinarian shall make reasonable efforts to notify the recipients of these Bovine unless the State Veterinarian can verify that the female Bovine was diagnosed pregnant by a licensed veterinarian.