

Matthew H. Mead

Governor

Wyoming Livestock Board

"To represent and serve Wyoming's livestock industry through protecting livestock health and verifying livestock ownership."



1934 Wyott Drive, Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002-0051 Phone: (307) 777-7515 ■ Fax: (307) 777-6561 ■ Web Site: <u>http://wlsb.state.wy.us</u>

Jim Logan, DVM-State Veterinarian

Steve True Director-Chief Executive Officer

Hunters Reminded to Have Horses Inspected

ENTRY into Wyoming:

The Wyoming Livestock Board is reminding hunters that horses, asses and mules are **REQUIRED** to have a Brand Inspection from your home state, if you are from required brand inspection state, or crossing county lines within the State of Wyoming, if you are a Wyoming resident hunter. Out of state horses are also required to have in possession a current Certificate of Veterinarian Inspection (CVI) within 30 days prior to importation and a negative Equine Infectious Anemia test within 12 months prior to importation is required per Chapter 8, Section 7 of the Wyoming Livestock Board Rules, W.S. 11-1-103. \$220.00 Bail per head found in violation.

LEAVING Wyoming or Movement within Wyoming:

Per Wyoming Statute 11-20-203(a), it is Unlawful for any person, firm, partnership, corporation, or association to sell, change ownership or to remove or cause to be removed in any way from any county in Wyoming to any other state or country, any livestock unless each animal has been inspected for brands and ownership at the time of delivery or removal by an authorized Wyoming Brand Inspector and a proper certificate of inspection has been issued. \$220.00 Bail per head found in violation.

Per Wyoming Statute 11-20-203(c), it is Unlawful for any person, firm, partnership, corporation or association to remove or cause to be removed in any way from any county in Wyoming to any other county, any livestock unless each animal has been inspected for brands and ownership at the time of delivery or removal by an authorized Wyoming Brand Inspector and a proper certificate of inspection has been issued. \$220.00 Bail per head found in violation.

"It is a pretty common violation found during hunting season, said Senior Criminal Investigator, Ken Richardson with the Wyoming Livestock Board, Law Enforcement / Investigation Division. Producers move livestock all the time and are generally familiar with the transportation requirements, but sometimes hunters just don't know. Richardson recommends that hunters get their horses inspected in advance of their planned departure. You may obtain a Wyoming Brand Inspection for a One Time Movement Inspection, Annual Brand Inspection or a Lifetime Inspection on your Equine. If you hunt with horses, just add getting the above requirements to your check list".

If you need a brand inspector contact for the area you will be hunting in this year, you can contact the Wyoming Livestock Board @ 307-777-7515 and we will be pleased to assist you with your brand inspection and health entry requirement needs.

Board Members

Todd Heward Shirley Basin President Kellen Little Leiter Vice President Joe Thomas Meeteetse Donna Baldwin Hunt Newcastle Bob Lucas Jackson Mark Eisele Cheyenne Laurie Boner Glenrock