Wyoming Livestock Board
*The Brand book and Abandoned brands are not available online, but both can be purchased through the Wyoming Livestock Board Office*
The 2013 Brand Books are now available!
The cost of the Brand Book is $40, which includes shipping. Another option is to pick up a copy in our Cheyenne office for $35.
January 1, 2015 mileage rate for Brand Inspectors changed to 57.5 cents per mile.
BRAND BOOKS AVAILABLE FOR SALE
Prices include shipping and handling
* 1995 Brand books and supplements can be purchased as a set for $25.00, while supplies last.
2013 BRAND BOOK ON CD $22.00
ABANDONED BRANDS CD $15.00
EVERY TWO YEARS A CERTAIN PERCENTAGE OF BRANDS ARE RENEWED.
The next renewal period will be January 1, 2013 thru March 1, 2013. The first renewal notice will be sent out in October 2012, and fees can be sent in at that time.
It is important that you keep your address updated to insure that you receive your brand renewal notice(s). Two notices are sent out, one in October and the final notice in January. Renewals must be postmarked by March 1 of the renewal year. All renewals sent in postmarked later that March 1 will be returned and the brand will be considered abandoned.
The fee for renewal is set by Legislature. The renewal fees for 2013 will be $300.00 per brand which averages $30.00 per year and will be good for 10 years. Renewal fees must be paid for separately from any other brand transaction and must be for the exact amount. More than one renewal can be on one check. We accept checks, money orders or credit cards. The cards we accept are Master Card and Visa. When paying by credit card please include a phone number where we can reach you. If there is a problem submitting the card and we do not have a phone number the renewal will be sent back.
Brand application fee must be submitted along with application. Brand research time can take up to eight weeks. The fee for a brand is $150.00 for one specie and $75.00 for each additional specie. If the brand you apply for is available we will send you an offer letter on the locations available. If no locations are available we will send a disallow letter asking for more choices to be submitted. If you do not desire any other brand at that time a refund of 75 percent of the brand application will be processed. The species that can be applied for are cattle, horses/mules, sheep and buffalo.
A brand is personal property that can be transferred to another party as long as all the paperwork has been submitted correctly. There are instructions on the back of the Bill of Sale/Transfer form explaining the different scenarios’ and instructions for transferring a brand. The fee for a change of ownership is $100.00.
The state began recording brands in 1909, prior to that brands were registered by County. A brand history consists of copies of the three by five cards that were used to record brands prior to computers. The cost of a brand history is $22.50 per brand even if no brand records are found.
Wyoming is one of several states which require Brand Inspection for the movement, or change of ownership of livestock. Wyoming requires a Brand Inspection when livestock are moved across a county line, a state line, and when livestock ownership changes.
Livestock do not need an inspection when a livestock owner has a Wyoming Livestock Board issued Intrastate Accustomed Range Permit, where the livestock are pre-approved to move from a designated location in county to another. A G Form Transportation Permit allows livestock to be transported to a Wyoming approved livestock market, upon arrival at the market an official Brand Inspection will take place.
Possession of a Wyoming Livestock Board Interstate Accustomed Range Permit does not exempt Livestock from inspection. This allows the livestock owner to transport livestock from a designated location in one state to another state, which is known as an accustomed range at a reduced inspection fee. Any animals that do not return to the state of Wyoming are subject to pay the full amount of any applicable Brand Inspection, Predator Board and Beef Council fees.
The Wyoming Livestock Board has the authority under W.S. 11-20-202 to designate, prepare and provide all forms required for the purpose of Brand Inspections and Brand Recording for inspection and ownership.
Get Adobe Reader Free
Due to security issues, many documents on this website are in Adobe Format.
Date last updated: April 21, 2015